Gems a Shadow should level

Hey all,

I'm new to the game, love it btw, and I see people talking about leveling this gem and not leveling that gem. The only definitive answer I've heard so far is not to level curses. Is there a relatively standard guide for a shadow on which gems should/shouldn't be leveled?

Also I just started seeing you could improve the quality of gems. Should I save these gem quality improvement items till later or use them now, and how much affect do they actually have on the gems?

The build I'm progressing with is a Shadow dagger crit ninja in case that matters.

Thanks in advance for your replies
Why would you not level curses? Level everything as far as your base attribute points will allow. The only exception I can think of is Clarity, whose mana cost increases with level.
Just check on the wiki at wich level the mana cost increases beyond what the skill+support gems cost you can handle. As for curses, if you can take the mana cost increase level them, simple as that.

Also dont waste GCPs raising quality of non qual gems, use them to raise a gem that droped with high quality even higher. On later difficulties you will get quality gem drops, use GCPs if you get a 14%+ for example to get it to 20, anything lower and you would just end up spending way too many gcps.
Última edição por Garr71 em 16 de fev de 2013 15:09:13
Garr nailed it

Leveling curses is dependant on your mana pool entirely.

While curses are awesome, they scale VERY SLOWLY but at a pretty big mana cost increase. (Meaning they are generally most mana efficient at level 1)

Ie warlords mark

Lvl 1: 3% life/1% mana leech @ 30 mana 9.0s duration
4% effect for 30 mana, which is approximately 18% efficiency (1% per 6 mana, with 2 mana remainder)

Lvl 5: 4% life/1% mana leech @ 42 mana, 9.4s duration
5% effect for 42 mana, which is approximately 14% efficiency (1% per 8 mana, with 2 mana remainder)

Lvl 10: 5% life/2% mana leech @ 56 mana, 9.9s duration