[3.22 STD] Aura fireball hit elementalist

EDIT: 3.23 build in later post. Will update this top post in future.

I'm no expert so bear with me, this is not a guide so much as a post to show it's possible. This won't win any awards or become a crowd favourite but it works if you want to use the play style. I'm sure someone more experienced could find a way to improve upon this, but then again I did this mostly myself so I'm posting it now after all the time investment.

Let's face it fireball sucks for scaling to major damage, and the elementalist isn't exactly the best for defences, so having a character that has to stand and shoot all the time with low defences is not a good combo. Nonetheless I happen to like the mechanics of actually shooting things myself and have a fond history with fireball from D&D so I kept persisting till this build worked. Additionally my avoidance skills really suck so I've gone overboard with the defences. This build copes extremely well with pretty much all map modifications, curses, and searing/eater downsides EXCEPT for "during any flask effect" downsides. It's great with hordes/mapping especially linear runs, and decent for bossing.

This is the end game build, along with a hefty budget requirement:
POB:
https://pobb.in/bLrMmW6tqwvk
15M DPS from fireball
16.1M with vortex
(31.4M with molten shell)

There are two legacy items in the build (the shield and the curse effect cluster jewels) along with some tattoos inherited from Ancestor league. There's probably another 1M DPS to get out of it, but it would cost another couple of mirrors get there. The last 10% costs 10x as much.

Build without any legacy/league items:
https://pobb.in/ybeAe6ttun59
13.9M DPS fireball

You'll note a slight switch of the combustion to vortex and using cruelty on the fireball instead. This combo is slightly better but theoretical only as I didn't have the skin with the right colours.

Older video example of playstyle mapping and versus Drox