HOW TO TRADE (How To Use Trade Chat + Forums)

INTRODUCTION
Spoiler
When I started Path of Exile I had no idea how trading worked. Once I pieced it together the game became much more enjoyable. I was able to trade things I didn’t need for things I did need, and the act of trading became a meta-game that I’m really enjoying.

I think more buyers and sellers can only improve the economy so I put this together. I’m not an expert by any means, but I hope it helps you get started.

THE BASICS
Spoiler
Open up chat by clicking the little speech bubble on the screen.
Click the dropdown menu and select Trade. This automatically takes you to trade chat.

To help you understand what’s being said here are some common abbreviations:

WTS = Want To Sell
WTB = Want To Buy
WTT = Want To Trade
PST = Please Send Tell (basically means: “whisper an offer to me.”)
c/o = current offer (the highest price the seller has supposedly been offered)
b/o = best offer (the "Buy It Now" price)
Alt = Orb of Alteration
GCP = Gem Cutters Prism
Chrom = Chromatic Orbs

BUYING
Spoiler
So let’s say you see something you’d like to get.

We’ll use this for an example.

-Initiation Phase

Start by right clicking the name of the seller, then select “whisper”.
Ask how much they want for the amulet.
Many people say “offer”. In which case you would offer them a price you think is fair.
Others simply tell you how much they want. These people are cooler, just sayin'.

-Haggling Phase

So let’s pretend the seller wants 1 chaos orb for it.
If you don’t have a chaos orb you could try offering the equivalent in something else, like 20 alts. (We'll get into currency exchange soon.)
If they’re ok with that then they’ll usually send you a party invite.
Note that most trading happens on Act I Normal in town.

-Trading phase

Now the seller will send you a trade request.
Drag and drop your 20 alts into the bottom box.
Wait for the seller to drop the amulet in the top box.